Solid Waste Management Division


The Division of Solid Waste Management provides safe and secure long term disposal of solid waste for the citizens of Citrus County. The Central Landfill is a modern engineered double lined facility that accepts over 100,000 tons of household, commercial, and industrial waste per year.

In addition to offering disposal services, the Division also recycles yard waste, scrap metal, end-of-life electronics, waste oil/filters, antifreeze, cooking oil, tires, car batteries, mercury, concrete and clean white Styrofoam.

We also operate a single-stream recycling program at 16 neighborhood drop-off locations. Volunteer organizations monitor and maintain the sites and earn revenue from the sale of the materials.

Disposal Fees





The Division operates as an enterprise fund, where revenues are generated by user fees charged at the landfill. A Solid Waste assessment on each residential unit in the County ($20 per year), and a fee charged to businesses with waste disposal service allows the County to provide non-revenue generating services such as Bulky Item disposal, Household Hazardous Waste Programs, County-wide Solid Waste Code Enforcement and Litter Pick-up, Adopt-a-Highway and Snag-n-Bag Aquatic Litter Programs, Future Solid Waste Planning, Construction and Capital Projects.

Our goal is to extend the life of the landfill by providing long term sustainable recycling, diversion and waste reduction services to the citizens of Citrus County in an environmentally sound manner.

If you are part of a community group, please consider joining our Adopt-A-Highway Program by calling our office and help us keep Citrus County beautiful.


Contact the Webmaster for questions or comments regarding this site.

Liability Disclaimer & User Agreement

NOTE: Under Florida law, e-mail addresses are public records. If you do not want your e-mail address released in response to a public records request, do not send us electronic mail. Instead, contact us by phone, or in writing.
© 2012 Citrus County Board of County Commissioners