News and Announcements

Commissioner Kitchen Elected Secretary Treasurer of Tampa Bay Regional Planning Council

Category: Press Releases       Posted By: Denise Gallagher       Year: 2017


Commissioner Ronald E. Kitchen, Jr. has been elected to serve as the 2017 Secretary/Treasurer for Tampa Bay Regional Planning Council (TBRPC) at their 54th Annual Meeting in December 2016.

In 2015, Citrus County became a member of the TBRPC and elected Commissioner Kitchen to represent the county on the TBRPC.  Kitchen was elected to the Citrus County Commission in 2014 and prior to that served as Mayor of the City of Crystal River for 10 years.  He serves on the TBRPC’s Executive/Budget Committee and the Legislative Committee.  He is also a member of the Hernando/Citrus Metropolitan Planning Organization, the Tampa Bay Area Regional Transit Authority (TBARTA), and is a member of the Citrus County Tourist Development Council.

“It is a great honor to represent Citrus County as an officer on the TBRPC board.” said Kitchen. “The TBRPC is a dynamic group of elected officials and others that come together to share information and to work on areas of regional concern. Given the fact that Citrus County is one of the newest and the smallest member of this six county regional board I was greatly humbled by my selection to this position.”

Councilman Patrick Roff, City of Bradenton has been elected as the 2017 TBRPC Chairperson along with Commissioner Janet Long, Pinellas County as the 2017 TBRPC Vice Chair. It is the TBRPC policy to rotate up their officers and as a result we anticipate Commissioner Kitchen serving as Vice Chair and Chair in 2018 and 2019 respectively.

The Tampa Bay Regional Planning Council is Citrus, Hernando, Hillsborough, Manatee, Pasco and Pinellas counties and the 21 different municipalities who regularly come together to discuss complex regional issues; develop strategic regional responses for resolving them; and build consensus for setting and accomplishing regional goals. The Council is made up of 27 elected officials who serve annual terms, 13 gubernatorial appointees who serve three-year terms, and 4 Ex-Officios (FDOT District 7, FDEP, SWFWMD and Enterprise Florida). The Council was established by the local governments of the Region in 1962 and operates a number of programs and services for regional planning and economic development designed to satisfy the needs of its local governments, encourage regional cooperation, and foster the healthy and orderly growth of the Region. For more information, visit


Post a Comment:
Comments are closed for this entry.


Contact the Webmaster for questions or comments regarding this site.

Liability Disclaimer & User Agreement

NOTE: Under Florida law, e-mail addresses are public records. If you do not want your e-mail address released in response to a public records request, do not send us electronic mail. Instead, contact us by phone, or in writing.
© 2012 Citrus County Board of County Commissioners

Facebook Twitter News / Press Releases News / Press Releases YouTube Videos